©2019 par l'Association des hôtels du Canada 

Recherche

« An Overview of Airbnb and the Hotel Sector in Canada: A Focus on Hosts with Multiple Units » (Vue d’ensemble d’Airbnb et du secteur de l’hôtellerie au Canada – Un regard sur les gestionnaires de multiples logements)

En mai 2017, l’Association des hôtels du Canada (AHC) a retenu les services de CBRE pour réaliser une étude sur les données accessibles au public afin d’examiner et de comparer les activités des secteurs de l’hôtellerie et de l’« hébergement partagé » au Canada. En tant que principale plateforme de partage d’hébergement au Canada, les niveaux récents de l’offre et du rendement d’Airbnb ont été examinés dans le présent rapport, ainsi que les mesures comparatives disponibles pour le secteur hôtelier. Plus précisément, cette étude a examiné les données accessibles au public sur l’évolution du marché locatif à court terme d’Airbnb et présente un profil empirique des gestionnaires de multiples logements.

Developing a Modern Approach to Short-Term Rentals in a Digital Economy: A Framework for Canadian Regulators (Élaboration d’une approche moderne de la location à court terme dans une économie numérique – Un cadre pour les organismes de réglementation canadiens) A Framework for Canadian Regulators 

Compte tenu du besoin évident et immédiat d’agir, l’Association des hôtels du Canada (AHC) a publié des lignes directrices sur les pratiques exemplaires visant à réglementer les locations à court terme. Ce document, intitulé « Developing a Modern Approach to Short-Term Rentals in a Digital Economy » (Élaboration d’une approche moderne de la location à court terme dans une économie numérique), présente aux municipalités canadiennes une analyse de l’évolution de la réglementation dans le monde et des pratiques exemplaires pour la mise au point d’un cadre local.

Les Canadiens sont préoccupés par les répercussions d’Airbnb sur leur communauté 

L’Association des hôtels du Canada (AHC) a publié les résultats d’une étude menée par Nanos Research, qui souligne les sérieuses réserves de l’ensemble des Canadiens quant aux répercussions des locations à court terme, comme Airbnb, sur leur communauté.

Soutenir la recherche

Short-Term Cities: Airbnb’s impact on Canadian Housing Markets (Villes à court terme – Les répercussions d’Airbnb sur les marchés canadiens de l’habitation)

Menée par des chercheurs de l’Université McGill (David Wachsmuth, Danielle Kerrigan, David Chaney et Andrea Shillolo), l’étude montre en détail la commercialisation croissante des locations à court terme au Canada et ce que les mesures que devraient prendre les villes à cet égard.

Printemps 2019 – Rapports du vérificateur général du Canada au Parlement du Canada (Rapport 3 – La taxation du commerce électronique)

Le vérificateur général du Canada a déposé les rapports du printemps 2019 le 7 mai, y compris un rapport sur la taxation du commerce électronique. D’après ce rapport, le régime de taxe de vente du Canada n’a pas suivi l’évolution rapide du marché numérique, et affiche des pertes annuelles qui s’élèvent à 169 millions de dollars en revenus de taxes de vente sur les produits et services numériques.

Short-term rentals in Canada: The first comprehensive overview (Location à court terme au Canada – Le premier aperçu complet)

Menée par des chercheurs de l’Université McGill (Jennifer Combs, Danielle Kerrigan et David Wachsmuth), l’étude a permis de faire l’analyse exhaustive d’Airbnb au Canada, en mettant l’accent sur l’interaction entre le marché locatif à court terme et le logement à long terme.

Mesurer l’hébergement privé à court terme au Canada

Statistique Canada veille continuellement à ce que les mesures économiques reflètent notre réalité, notamment les activités nouvelles et émergentes comme le marché privé de l’hébergement à court terme. Les Comptes macroéconomiques canadiens ont produit des estimations provisoires du marché privé à court terme de l’hébergement au Canada, dans les provinces et les territoires. Cet article traite d’une approche novatrice visant à mesurer cette activité à l’aide de données glanées sur le Web. En plus de fournir des estimations provisoires de l’ensemble du marché, le présent document renferme une analyse détaillée de la plus grande plateforme numérique d’hébergement privé utilisée au Canada. Enfin, il résume l’approche adoptée pour intégrer les données dans diverses mesures macroéconomiques, comme le produit intérieur brut.

Rapports du printemps 2019 du vérificateur général du Canada au Parlement du Canada (Rapport 3 – La fiscalité du commerce électronique)

Le vérificateur général du Canada a déposé les rapports du printemps 2019 le 7 mai, y compris un rapport sur la taxation du commerce électronique. D’après ce rapport, le régime de taxe de vente du Canada n’a pas suivi l’évolution rapide du marché numérique, et affiche des pertes annuelles qui s’élèvent à 169 millions de dollars en revenus de taxes de vente sur les produits et services numériques.

Short-term rentals in Canada: The first comprehensive overview (Location à court terme au Canada – Le premier aperçu complet)

Menée par des chercheurs de l’Université McGill (Jennifer Combs, Danielle Kerrigan et David Wachsmuth), l’étude a permis de faire l’analyse exhaustive d’Airbnb au Canada, en mettant l’accent sur l’interaction entre le marché locatif à court terme et le logement à long terme.

Short-term rentals in Canada: The first comprehensive overview (Location à court terme au Canada – Le premier aperçu complet)

Menée par des chercheurs de l’Université McGill (Jennifer Combs, Danielle Kerrigan et David Wachsmuth), l’étude a permis de faire l’analyse exhaustive d’Airbnb au Canada, en mettant l’accent sur l’interaction entre le marché locatif à court terme et le logement à long terme.

©2019 by the Hotel Association of Canada

Research

An Overview of Airbnb and the Hotel Sector in Canada: A Focus on Hosts with Multiple Units 

In May 2017, the Hotel Association of Canada (HAC) retained CBRE to undertake a research study of publicly available data to examine and compare the operation of the hotel and the “sharing accommodation” sectors in Canada. As the key sharing accommodation platform in Canada, Airbnb’s recent levels of supply and performance have been examined in this report, along with available comparative measures for the hotel sector. Specifically, this study has examined publicly available data related to the changing landscape of the short-term rental market available on Airbnb and presents an empirical profile of multiple-unit hosts.

Developing a Modern Approach to Short-Term Rentals in a Digital Economy: A Framework for Canadian Regulators 

Based on the clear and immediate need for action, the Hotel Association of Canada (HAC) released best practice guidelines for regulating short-term rentals. The paper, “Developing a Modern Approach to Short-Term Rentals in a Digital Economy,” gives Canadian municipalities an analysis of regulatory developments worldwide and best practice approaches to developing a local framework.

Canadians are Concerned about the Airbnb's Impact on their Communities 

The Hotel Association of Canada (HAC), released the results of a study, conducted by Nanos Research, highlighting that Canadians from coast to coast have serious reservations about the impact of short-term rentals, like Airbnb, on their communities.

Supporting Research

Short-Term Cities: Airbnb's impact on Canadian Housing Markets

Conducted by McGill's UPGo researchers--Prof. David Wachsmuth, Danielle Kerrigan, David Chaney, and Andrea Shillolo--the report details the increasing commercialization of short-term rentals in Canada and what cities should do about it.

2019 Spring Reports of the Auditor General of Canada to the Parliament of Canada (Report 3—Taxation of E-Commerce)

The Auditor General of Canada tabled the 2019 Spring Reports on May 7, including a report on Taxation of E-Commerce. According to the report, the Canadian sales tax system did not keep pace with the rapidly evolving digital marketplace, with estimated losses of $169 million in sales tax revenues on foreign digital products and services.

Short-term rentals in Canada: The first comprehensive overview

Conducted by McGill's UPGo researchers--Jennifer Combs, Danielle Kerrigan and David Wachsmuth --the report presents a comprehensive analysis of Airbnb in Canada, with an emphasis on the interaction between the short-term rental market and long-term housing. 

Measuring private short-term accommodation in Canada

Statistics Canada continuously works to ensure that economic measures reflect our reality, including new and emerging activities such as the private short-term accommodation market. The Canadian Macroeconomic Accounts have developed provisional estimates of the private short-term accommodation market in Canada, the provinces and territories. This paper outlines an innovative approach to measuring this activity using web-scrapped data. In addition to providing provisional estimates of the overall market, this paper contains detailed analysis of the largest private accommodation digital platform used in Canada. Finally, it summarizes the approach taken for incorporating the data into various macroeconomic measures, such as gross domestic product (GDP).

2019 Spring Reports of the Auditor General of Canada to the Parliament of Canada (Report 3—Taxation of E-Commerce)

The Auditor General of Canada tabled the 2019 Spring Reports on May 7, including a report on Taxation of E-Commerce. According to the report, the Canadian sales tax system did not keep pace with the rapidly evolving digital marketplace, with estimated losses of $169 million in sales tax revenues on foreign digital products and services.

Short-term rentals in Whitehorse

In the last several years, short-term rental (STR) platforms such as Airbnb have begun to transform residential neighbourhoods across Canada. In this brief report, we shine a data spotlight on the City of Whitehorse. 

Short-term rentals in Toronto: UPGo city spotlight

This brief report sets out the key facts and trends concerning short-term rentals in the City of Toronto. It is based on a detailed analysis of every Airbnb and HomeAway listing active in the city between 1 October 2014 and 30 April 2019.